Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


Returning to my two ways of defining favorite from Day 15, I find it difficult to think of female characters who would be strong favorites in either category. Not to say I haven’t read about many extraordinary, admirable, and attractive women in fiction, but simply that most of the characters that seem to get most of the author’s attention in my books seem to be male. I can think of many good female characters, but few that I got to know well enough to be considered a favorite. Even worse, many of these few are from books I have not read in years, meaning I rely on memories of memories in order to evaluate them. Still, who are the candidates?

I nearly chose Eilonwy, from The Prydain Chronicles of Lloyd Alexander. She is the best of the fiery redheads, pairing ravishing beauty with a tomboyish attitude, and she loves the sweetness in Taran, the poor pigherder who is too often frightened and confused by her wild temper and easily-offended pride. Eilonwy is endearing and hilarious, but I did not choose her.

I briefly contemplated Polgara from The Belgariad by David and Leigh Eddings. She is gorgeous for her 3000-some years, one of the most powerful sorceresses around, wants mostly a happy home life as a wife and mother but will literally eradicate anyone who harms those she loves, has some very strict morals, is a romantic for the big things and pragmatic for the little things, and is prone to destroying castle towers if you sneak out on a certain-death quest without her. Her wit, good humor, and motherly love are what make her so great, but still, I can’t say she speaks to me personally as a character.

Then there is Lúthien, who would win handily if she was given a detailed enough treatment by Tolkien. If.

I would have gone with one of these women had it not been for Melpomene’s Day 16 post, which came out early today. Her choice seems so clear upon reflection, and is argued persuasively enough, that I fear I can do little more than sign my name below hers, in agreement. I can’t add anything, at this point.

So. My choice for favorite (which includes most admirable) female character in fiction, at this point, is…

Lucy Pevensie, from The Chronicles of Narnia.

My reasons are the same as Melpomene’s. Read them here.

