Tags

, , , ,


Blogger Jen at Crazy for Books has a neat idea called the Book Blogger Hop that is geared towards connecting bloggers with similar literary tastes. Basically, her post hosts a list of all participating bloggers, with links to their sites. The catch is that you only get your link posted if you too post about the Hop and about some of your favorite articles by other book bloggers. Fair enough.

Since Krysta at Pages Unbound was kind enough to feature me, I thought it only fair to participate myself and spread the love around. The “rules” are explained succinctly in Jen’s own words:

It’s time to spread some love beyond the borders of the Book Blogger Hop! This week, we aren’t answering a question. We are spotlighting our fellow bloggers. Find your favorite(s) author interview(s), guest post(s), book review(s), or bookish article(s) that ANOTHER BOOK BLOGGER featured on their site recently and tell us why you love it/them! As an additional challenge, find your favorite one of EACH of the categories above and spotlight all 4 (interview, guest post, review, article).

So, without further ado, here are some of my favorite posts about books by other bloggers:

While We’re Paused is the most excellently prolific blog I have found. It is run by Lantern Hollow Press, which publishes Christian speculative fiction, and its bloggers are well-read, personable, and thoughtful. I was especially impressed by this discussion of the place of theology and faith in fiction, and this review of J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan. My only concern is that they produce such an abundance of fascinating and important articles that I may never be able to read all the ones I want to!

I cannot neglect the excellent M.J. Schneider at Catecinem, who regularly produces articles of such insight, interest, and usefulness–and length!–that I weep that I have read so few of them. His central topics of interest include movies, film criticism, and the intersection of Christianity and the arts. He was also kind enough to mention me recently, suggesting that my poor scattering of literary posts has served some positive purpose in the blogosphere. Plus, he’s a Doctor Who fan! A sign of good taste, surely.

I’d also be remiss if I did not mention the brother-sister team at Be Kind Rewrite (to be honest, I’m never quite sure which one is commenting on my posts!), which first attracted me with this post on “How to Personalize the Epic.” How many readers not only know C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy, but have understood it and taken the time to think about it? Not many!

The best book reviews on the Internet, in my opinion, are written by J. Holsworth Stevenson, writer & purveyor. He cuts straight to the heart of a book concisely, revealing much about its tone, its themes, and the personality of the author without ever summarizing the plot or rambling about irrelevant matters. He is, in fact, my model review-writer, as I try (usually in vain) to cut out the chaff in my writing and get to the point. My favorite review of his happens to be about my favorite book: The Lantern Bearers, by Rosemary Sutcliff.

And o! The Egotist’s Club! I am honored to know some of these erudite women personally, but even if I did not, I would follow their blog eagerly, with laughter and respect. They educate me about books I do not know, but want to know. They somber me with very honest discussions of the character of Orual in Lewis’ Till We Have Faces. And they inspire me with reflections on one of the most overlooked wonderful characters of fiction, Lucy Pevensie. Plus, these ladies are just a heckuva a lot of fun!

