Book Meme Day 30: Favorite Book of All Time

Well if you are going to deal in absolutes, then fine. The Holy Bible. Old and New Testaments. Not a word more nor a word less. Preferably the New American Standard translation, but as long as a translation is meticulously accurate, it counts as my favorite. You see, there really is no book nearly as important or wonderful or perfect as the Bible. It sheds Light on every aspect of human existence, and it is always invariably correct.

Oh, what’s that? Yes, I know I excluded the Bible from this meme at the beginning to prevent it from sweeping all the positive “awards.” But the phrasing of today’s topic—the final topic—left me no choice. Favorite book of all time? All time? If we are speaking about eternity, then all books will fade away but this one, because it is the Scripture bearing the gospel of the infinite God. It all seems quite simple to me—with the qualification “of all time,” literally no other book can even be considered a candidate, because all other books are the words of finite men trying, whether they realize it or not, to grasp at the mind of God.

In fact, it is the word “favorite” which is irrelevant in this topic. What has my opinion got to do with anything relating to eternity? The Bible is The Book of All Time, and it is my good fortune (and grace from God) that I wholeheartedly love it.

Are you not satisfied yet? What did you expect me to write about, my favorite novel? That’s not the meme topic, now is it? And besides, you already know my favorite series, my favorite story by the author of my favorite series, my favorite books by my favorite authors, my favorite “classic” book, my favorite male and female characters, two of my favorite quotes, my favorite romance in a book, my favorite childhood book, and my favorite book title.

It would be ungenerous of me to call these an overabundance of favorites, for the very concept seems ludicrous to me, especially concerning books, where each one may prove more dear than others to a person at different points in their lives, and it is very possible for multiple books to be on a shelf of favorites, as it were, all at the same time, with none taking particular precedence. When ranking such subjective things like books and movies, I prefer to think of them that way—a highest level of “great” stories that are among the best ever told and which are the most important to me personally, and then successive levels below. The number of stories which may occupy any given level is, theoretically, infinite.

By reading these month’s posts, you have already gained a pretty solid idea of my favorite stories. However, since I do love title-dropping, I’ll indulge in just a little more. If you want more information or discussion on any of the titles below, just ask. They make for great discussion!

The Eagle of the Ninth by Rosemary Sutcliff (my review!)
Sword at Sunset by Rosemary Sutcliff
The Lantern Bearers by Rosemary Sutcliff
Phantastes by George MacDonald
Mossflower by Brian Jacques
Watership Down by Richard Adams
The Odyssey by Homer
Nicomachean Ethics by Aristotle
Summa Theologica by Thomas Aquinas
Mere Christianity by Lewis
Miracles by Lewis
Chronicles of Narnia by Lewis

(and so. many. more.)

Oh, and yes, this is the end of the meme. Unfortunately I shall not be updating every single day. However, I do have a few new reviews in the pipeline, so fear not, the month of June will not be an empty one!

8 thoughts on “Book Meme Day 30: Favorite Book of All Time

    1. You may easily exceed it, I’ve little doubt! I’d be eager to follow you on a meme like this; in fact, I’m contemplating modifying the one I did into a film meme. I would let at least a few months go by before trying it, but a lot of those “favorites” on the list could be replaced with far more interesting and meaningful film topics. Your own film discussions are inspiring and challenging in the best of ways, and I hope the next movie review I post will be done to a slightly higher standard because of that.

      1. Well, I do really look forward to your posts, whether they’re on film or literature, and I thank you for the kind words. No pressure on me now to nail the meme thing then, hey? :)

  1. Well done, David. I am doing this on Facebook as a daily thing and decided to keep in “literature” rather than fiction to restrain myself. Otherwise, I wouldn’t be able to pick favorites. I considered putting the Bible as my favorite book, but something held me back. I do so because, to me at least, the Bible is more than simply a book, and I don’t want to put it on the same list as those that are man-inspired and man-created. It’s beyond a book list thing for me; it’s my touchtone, my life manual, and my constant teacher! It’s nice to see that another soul sees it in the same way I do. God bless you, brother!

    1. Thanks, and God bless you too! Fully agreed. After all, how could you put as your favorite character anyone other than Jesus? Or your favorite story anything other than the gospel?

      But I’d love to see your choices for this meme! Think you might post them to your blog?

  2. This 30 day thing seems really cool. I don’t know when I would get around to actually doing it, but I have some ideas.

    I admit that when it comes to my favorite book, I often forget the Bible. But it has everything we need to know – it is the Word of God! I’m still trying to get all the way through it for the first time, but I really like the books Daniel, Job, Esther, and Revelation. There’s something about learning about real people’s lives and struggles and how God was always there even when He didn’t seem to be (wow, that feels like a run-on sentence) that’s fascinating. I also just love learning about the end times – especially with all that is going on in the Middle East right now.

    Also – because you mentioned Mossflower, I must comment. Mossflower and Martin the Warrior were my favorite books in the Redwall series. They had the best characters and the most engaging stories. A lot of the others had a lot of ups and downs (downs usually being those long feasts where nothing happened). I also didn’t care much for the original Redwall. It was okay, but Martin’s tales were always better.

    1. Mossflower was my first and always my favorite Redwall book, and the one which has influenced me the most. There are many other excellent ones; I remember especially Mattimeo, Joseph the Bellmaker, The Long Patrol, and Marlfox. The feasts were nice in that they were easily skipped if you got bored of them, but provided delicious images if you wanted to sit back and dream of good food. The original book I remember being good (and, of course, starting the familiar formula), especially in terms of its highly memorable villain, Cluny the Scourge, but it’s been so long I don’t remember it in much detail.

What are your thoughts?

