My Book Shelves

Photos of my bookshelves.

After I had complemented Terpsichore on her magnificent book stacks that she showed off for Day 30 of May’s Meme, she wondered what my own shelves look like. So I figured I could show you all. For the most part, any book you see in these photos is recommended by me. For the most part. I can’t speak for those I haven’t read.

Half-pictured are the figurines atop the shelf: a Roman centurion, a Roman chariot, a Scottish piper, William Wallace, two Robin Hoods, a wolf, a bald eagle, a buggy, a piece of fool's gold, and an old-fashioned Sees Candy delivery man with his motorbike and trailer. And behind them, a genuine Aboriginal-Australian ceremonial boomerang. And a portrait of one of my own dragon characters drawn by a dear friend. And a photo of the folks from my hall at St Andrews.

I went through a Garfield phase for awhile.
Stacked for your convenience.

And I have still more than these, of course. Most of them I’ve read, the rest I plan to. So many books, so little time!

What’s on your shelves?

Author: David

I’m a young Christian American reader writer dreamer wanderer walker flier listener talker scholar adventurer musician word-magician romantic critic religious idealist optipessimist man.

24 thoughts on “My Book Shelves”

  1. This delights me in *so* many ways. I like how we’ve both rearranged the boxed Narniad; the Tolkien or Tolkien-centric volumes; and the combination of books from younger years and more recently acquired texts. Brilliant.

    How do you like Card’s Crystal City? Other than the Ender/Shadow books, I’ve only read Magic Street and Treason (and liked them well enough).

    Also, I haven’t gotten any Sutcliff yet, but I started The Crystal Cave today.

    1. I just picked up a beautiful hardcover of The Crystal Cave today for a quarter at a library book sale! It must be something in the air…

      1. Hm, makes me wonder if this is a sign I should move it up on my reading list. And a quarter? Wow, that’s even better than my deals!

        1. Yes, the Friends of the Library ladies said it was bargain time because they had been sitting outside in the heat all day and didn’t want to carry the books back in. So we got there at just the right time, it seems.

    2. Huzzah for the as-published order of Narnia books! Great minds think alike, eh?

      Actually, it’s a funny thing with The Crystal City. I picked it up from a library booksale last year on the strength of Card’s name and the premise of an alternate fantasy America, but only after getting home did I realize it is sixth in his Alvin Maker series. Since I haven’t read the first five, I decided not to read it just yet. Might not even keep it, since who knows when I’ll get around to the series? But I do intend to read at least Ender’s Game sometime, since everyone says it is fantastic.

      Read Sutcliff ASAP! Her Lantern Bearers nearly won my top spot for “Favorite Book.”

      1. Haha…that happened to me with Peter and the Shadow Thieves and something called The Hidden City (third in The Tamuli…you have some Eddings there, have you read it?) – so i bought Peter and the Starcatchers but haven’t got the other two Eddings books yet.

        Hark how author’s names plus good titles can throw us all off…

  2. (Also also, I feel guilty now for leaving out the other 300 volumes….mayhaps there shall be another photo op sometime…)

    1. No worries, I left out nearly half of my books, including most of the academic ones. But I’d happily peruse photos of more of your books! ‘-)

    1. Thanks Julie. Your advice about grouping books by color is an interesting one. I mostly grouped mine by author and genre, making sure that the books I will be reading the most are closest to the head of my bed, and moving others to the bottom shelves and corners. Then again, I’m not gonna be showcasing my bedroom bookshelves to the public!

      1. We get this home decor catalog all the time that always shows books arranged by color, and I think it looks really cool. However, I’m more likely to put my books by author and genre, too, since I am a reader before I am an artist (i.e., I think about what’s in the books before I think about what they look like). I have to confess a certain fondness for the look of books stuck higgledy-piggledy on shelves. It creates a certain pleasingly academic, slightly scatterbrained effect, don’t you think? Like the office of your favorite college professor, because let’s be honest, more of them have offices overflowing with books than do not.

      2. As a librarian’s daughter, mine are compulsively arranged into Fiction and Non-Fiction sections, with the Fiction ordered alphabetically by author and the Non-Fiction by subject.

        I’d go nuts at the very thought of doing it any other way!

        1. Very organized, and very convenient, I’m sure! When I’m older and successful, with a fine house and large (certainly disproportionately so) library packed with hundreds of books that I can loan out to jealous friends, I’ll probably have to adopt an ordering system like that. At the moment, I’m still in the barely-organized ex-student phase. ‘-)

  3. Aha! You have the Frank Peretti Cooper Kids books! I used to borrow those from the church library. I thought they were awesome, though they also scared the bejeebers out of me.

    Have you read Habitation of the Blessed yet? I’ve read Valente’s Orphan Tales books, and I can say without a doubt they are truly the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. I have wanted to try her other works, but the latest I had heard of, Palimpsest, looked like it had more sexual content than I wanted to put up with. By now, I see she has a few more novels, and I’ll want to try them.

    My books take up one half of my closet, and if the other half were not peculiarly suited only for storing clothing, I’d probably start moving the clothes out to make more room for the books. As it is, I have run out of space, and will need to figure out alternative storage arrangements.

    1. Those Peretti books are the only ones I’ve read, but YES did they scare the bejeebers out of my kid self! I’ll have to reread them to see if his suspense skills hold up, but man, I was nervous to read them before bed.

      Nope, haven’t read Habitation of the Blessed yet; in fact, I just bought it cheap from Borders before they closed, because the Orphan’s Tales had been recommended to me but the store didn’t have them. That’s quite a high praise — I’ll be sure to let you know what I think of Habitation, and I’ll keep a weather eye for the others.

      I just donated a few books to the library to make some room, but I’ve still got stacks on the table by my bed and on the headboard.

  4. I imagine that if you took the Orphan’s Tales books, held them open, and shook them just right, instead of words falling out, you’d get a pile of gold and silver coins, precious gems, rare spices, incense, and dried rose petals.

    Haha, I am imagining the result of trying to stack books on my narrow headboard: death by falling books! But that wouldn’t be so bad a way to die, I suppose.

    1. I am careful to keep the two sacks on the far sides of the headboard, so they would fall around me rather than right on my head. But still, if an earthquake that was strong enough struck in the middle of the night, I might wake up with a bruised head…

  5. Hooray, Calvin and Hobbes!

    I wish I had all my books in one place. The one drawback to having a nomadic lifestyle is that I always misplace my books. Thankfully, I got a Kindle for my birthday. That helps, but I miss books.

    1. I’m putting off the whole e-Reader/Kindle thing as long as I can, being a devoted lover of physical books (and if possible, leather-bounds and hardbacks!). But as one friend with a Kindle said, “I can carry a library in my pocket, and I love it.” That’s useful.

      And yes, the immortal C&H. What would life be like without them? Worse, certainly!

        1. Ha, that was funny, although it’s a far less scary vision of adult-Calvin than what I he might actually become. Thanks for sharing it!

  6. I can’t believe you and I have the same edition of Bulfinch’s. That’s incredible! I have a hard enough time meeting people who’ve even heard of him, let alone have the exact same edition of his Mythology!

    1. I bought that one at a university booksale a few years ago. Couldn’t resist, since it cost me only about a dollar, I love mythology (and studied it), and I love old books. Even though I’ve read most of the Greek and Roman myths from original sources, I still like having Bulfinch around as a reference, especially for other myths like the Scandinavian and Egyptian ones of which I’m less familiar.

What are your thoughts?

