100th Post! Also, what’s coming up

Ta-da! This is my 100th post since The Warden’s Walk went online in November of 2010. It has been visited 15,214 times since then, has 23 active subscribers, and, I hope, has been of good use and interest to all of you.

[EDIT: Also, I am trying out a new theme — that is, appearance — for the site. What do you guys think of it? I want to know how easy it is to read and navigate compared to the previous theme. Which do you prefer? I’d appreciate your input!]

July has been upon us for over a week now, and it is time I let you know what I’ve been up to. These are the reviews I expect to have done this month.

Highlander Season 2 has been finished some time ago, and the review is in progress. One of my favorite characters leaves only a few episodes in, but the writing is noticeably getting better. Happily, the writers are showing a greater interest in history, and I hope they continue down that path.

I am now re-watching parts of Doctor Who Series 3, taking notes for review this time. Some fantastic stories get told, the best of them (“Human Nature”/”The Family of Blood” and “Blink”) back-to-back.  While Martha Jones isn’t as interesting as Rose was, she is competent and fairly likable.

Additionally, I have finished Myst: The Book of Atrus, and hopefully shall not wait too long before reviewing it. The book directly engages questions relating to the art and nature of writing itself, and I’d like to examine how the book’s discussion relates to similar ideas proposed by the likes of Lewis, Tolkien, and MacDonald.

Other possibilities include further reviews of the BBC’s Robin Hood Season 1 episodes and the occasional movie review.

I am currently reading The Dragonheroes by Blake Garrett Anderson and Lilith by George MacDonald.

Author: David

I’m a young Christian American reader writer dreamer wanderer walker flier listener talker scholar adventurer musician word-magician romantic critic religious idealist optipessimist man.

7 thoughts on “100th Post! Also, what’s coming up”

  1. Congrats on the 100th post!

    Doctor Who reviews will be interesting. I personally quite liked Martha. She was a smart and courageous character. I liked Rose too, but Rose seemed a bit like Mickey (except cooler) when it came to her relationship with the Doctor (always going to run back to him and never give him up). Martha knew she didn’t have a chance, and knew she had to leave to protect her heart. I’m still glad things worked out for Rose though. 🙂

    1. Martha was nice, and smart and courageous like you said. I liked her–I just wasn’t as interested in her character as Rose. While Martha finally had to accept that the Doctor would never love her romantically, it took her an awful long time, and it seemed like she was hitting on him from the get-go when she should have been more professional and respectful of his emotional state. Anyway, I’ll go more into my thoughts on her with the actual review. Overall she was a good character, and she may have handled “The Human Nature”/”Family of Blood” story better than Rose would have. At least better than Rose if Rose were relatively that early in her “career” as a companion. The later Rose grew to be quite competent.

  2. I haven’t read “Myst: The Book of Atrus” before, but it sounds interesting.

    Hooray for Doctor Who! Sounds like you and I agree on which were the better episodes of season 3. Martha Jones annoyed me for most of her time on the show, but there were some good episodes.

    Your new theme looks pretty sweet.

    1. The Book of Atrus was excellent and thought-provoking; all the more surprising because it is based off the old Myst computer game series.

      Yeah, so far I’m liking the new theme. “Twenty Ten” was simple, but very solid, and none of the others up till now worked quite as well for what I wanted. “Chateau” has a few flourishes I wish were toned down a little, but overall seems pretty classy. I just may keep it!

  3. Congrats! I don’t have any comment about the new theme (except for “Hey, that’s different!” which is not very helpful), but I’m looking forward to your thoughts on Who, Myst, and Highlander!

What are your thoughts?

