“Eyrie” – A mystical short film

Some short films are just too neat not to share, although I won’t be reviewing them as I do other movies, television episodes, and even short stories. Like flash fiction, many short films are either about the experience of an unforgettable moment or a surprise twist.

Eyrie, by student animator David Wolter, has both. It’s a sweet, mystical little story about a young shepherd somewhere in an American plain or desert, and how he learns responsibility and…something else. I dare not spoil it. At four minutes, it is lean and efficient, and yet manages an easy, sauntering pace that savors the telling of the story rather than rushing to a climax. It’s relaxing, intriguing, and a little bit inspiring. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did; be sure to let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Author: David

I’m a young Christian American reader writer dreamer wanderer walker flier listener talker scholar adventurer musician word-magician romantic critic religious idealist optipessimist man.

7 thoughts on ““Eyrie” – A mystical short film”

  1. I recently began reading a select number of graphic novels, mostly ones that were adaptations of novels that I had already read. I love both genres and their very different approach to telling a story. While graphic novels still have text, their visual impact is much stronger. I love seeing the story that I’ve already read and characters I’ve come to love come alive through illustration. This short film was excellent. It was made better for the lack of interfering words. It was pure and simple visual poetry. 🙂

    1. I have slowly started reading some graphic novels, beginning with the ones based on Joss Whedon’s Firefly and Serenity (since we’re all still starved for more of that colorful universe!), and tepidly exploring a few others. I read a great deal of the epic graphic novel Bone, but lost access to it months ago and haven’t had a chance to get it from the library and finish it. Eventually I’ll explore some Neil Gaiman, as I’ve only read a couple of his short stories so far. Do you have any graphic novel recommendations?

      1. Neil Gaiman’s “Neverwhere” and his Sandman series are very good in graphic novel form, as are Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files novels. I have also read Laurel K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series and Patricia Brigg’s Mercy Thompson series. There is a set of compilations called “Flight,” which I found strange, but ok. There are so many that I would like to read, but our library’s selection is rather limited. I’ll have to order some online from Ohio’s state library system. I’m just getting started on graphic novels, so I don’t know that much about them yet. For example, I didn’t know that “Firefly” and “Serenity” were in graphic novel form- SWEET! I’ll be ordering those first. 🙂 By the way, here is one of my favorite passages from the series:

        Book: “What are we up to, sweetheart?”

        River: “Fixing your Bible.”

        Book: “I, um…(alarmed)…what?”

        River: “Bible’s broken. Contradictions, false logistics – doesn’t make sense.” (she’s marked up the bible, crossed out passages)

        Book: “No, no. You – you can’t…

        River: “So we’ll integrate non-progressional evolution theory with God’s creation of Eden. Eleven inherent metaphoric parallels already there. Eleven. Important number. Prime number. One goes into the house of eleven eleven times, but always comes out one. Noah’s ark is a problem.”

        Book: “Really?”

        River: “We’ll have to call it early quantum state phenomenon. Only way to fit 5000 species of mammal on the same boat.” (rips out page)

        I loved that series. Knowing that there won’t be any further episodes makes me want to cry…

        1. The Flight compilations are on my “To Read” list — I’ve only heard vague things about them, but flight is on of my favorite topics, especially for fantasy, and I’m eager to give the stories a try.

          There is a lot to like in the ‘Verse. Two of the graphic novels bridge the gap between the series and the movie; the third one quickly tells Book’s mysterious back story. One–I forget which–has great artwork, while the quality in the other two varies, and none of the stories hold out well as stand-alones. But they’re fine companion pieces for fans.

          Hehe, that’s actually not one of my favorite passages from the series–amusing as Book’s reaction is–because I think it’s one of the instances where Whedon turns his own personal views into a barb at those who think differently than him, without a very nuanced approach (and ignoring lots of established fact and rationale arguments). I admire the guy in many ways, but he doesn’t understand the concept of religious faith very well, nor the reasons many people actually believe!

          Hmm…favorite quotes. “Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle.” “I swear, by my pretty floral bonnet, I will end you.” “Curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal!” Yeah, a lot of the usual ones, haha. I keep hoping there’ll be a way to bring back the show. It can’t be exactly as before, but there are ways to keep at least some of the same characters and such. Oh well.

What are your thoughts?

