Short Film: Dr. Grordbort Presents “The Deadliest Game”


I like to showcase neat short films when I find them, even though I don’t typically review them as I do feature films. Dr. Grordbort Presents: The Deadliest Game is a fun, five-minute diversion, a Vernian steampunk safari through an alien planet that humorously and gently satirizes the Victorian love of killing exotic and endangered animals in far and colonial lands. The alien designs are particularly inventive, reminding me somewhat of the goofy aliens in Calvin & Hobbes, as well as the planetary romances of the early sci-fi writers. And the last line is a great one to end with, perfectly summarizing Dr. Grordbort’s attitude.

Dr Grordbort Presents: The Deadliest Game from Media Design School on Vimeo.

Author: David

I’m a young Christian American reader writer dreamer wanderer walker flier listener talker scholar adventurer musician word-magician romantic critic religious idealist optipessimist man.

5 thoughts on “Short Film: Dr. Grordbort Presents “The Deadliest Game””

  1. Cleverly made, and I like the use of the sepia tones. I’m inclined to think the message a little more heavy-handed than gentle, but it could just be that I do get somewhat defensive when things show an environmental leaning. It’s not that I don’t think we should take care of the environment, but I’m over-wary of isms, I guess. I should probably lighten up somewhat.

    1. That’s a fair criticism — after all, politically-minded environmental messages have gotten rather out of hand in this day and age (one even ruined Wall-E for my dad, though I still enjoy the movie for everything else in it). I called this one “gentle” because it seemed more concerned with willy-nilly big-game hunting, British imperialism, and because it ultimately turned its potentially tree-hugging spokesgirl into a comically infatuated convert to the manliness of hunting.

      1. I love the natural world and want to preserve and protect it, but when “environmentalism” turns into a status-symbol, is preached heavy handedly (I don’t like such preaching even when I agree with the message…), or preached with arrogance, it grates on me, so I think I understand where you are coming from, Urania. For all the visual beauty of it, I did not like Cameron’s “Avatar” primarily because of its self-satisfied and anvilicious message (there were a few other things that bothered me too, like flat characters and poor dialogue…).

        I took this film as more of a playful commentary on victorian imperialism and big-game hunting. If it had wanted to be heavy-handed, I think it would have had a somewhat different tone, and certainly would have ended differently.

        Monster-boxing and staring contest? Hah!

What are your thoughts?

