Tolkien Week!

Sunday, March 25th, was Tolkien Reading Day, as declared by The Tolkien Society, being as it is the calendar day that the Ring was destroyed in Mount Doom at the end of The Lord of the Rings. To honor this, Pages Unbound is hosting a two-week long Middle-Earthan extravaganza, featuring a new guest post each day on some Tolkien-related topic. (Actually I don’t know if it’s an extravaganza, but I just really wanted to use that word) It’s gotten off to a great start so far, so I recommend you all hurry over there to read and comment.

You may want to skip the end of the extravaganza next week, though, as that’s when my guest post will be appearing. No point in wasting your time; it’ll be a horrible essay, I’m sure. Morgoth’s been taunting me about it.

As a teaser for what my topic will be, I give you this picture by Ted Nasmith.

(as a potentially amusing sidenote, I initially misspelled this post’s title as “Tolkien Weed”)

Author: David

I’m a young Christian American reader writer dreamer wanderer walker flier listener talker scholar adventurer musician word-magician romantic critic religious idealist optipessimist man.

8 thoughts on “Tolkien Week!”

  1. Well, we all know that pipe weed is a significant element of Middle Earth, so that title would not have been utterly and entirely wrong, would it?

    PS – Just finished The Bell at Sealey Head and enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. I am a devoted fan of the Peter Jackson movies, but not so much of the books. I can recall most of the young men in my class reading the books and some of the young women. I did try reading the series; however found the writing a bit– dry. At the time I was reading Vonnegut, Rand, Hesse, Baldwin, Chester Himes from my Daddy’s stash and a lot of plays. I purchased the books for my granddaughter because she loved the film, but she made the same complaints as I did at her age. I have enjoyed reading Tolkien’s notes for the novels a great deal more than the actual novel. However, I may try reading again just for this project.

    1. The books can be an acquired taste for those who don’t take to Tolkien’s style naturally. I love history (which is usually told drily) and I grew up with some slightly denser fare than most other kids my age, I think: Gary Paulsen, Jack London, Brian Jacques, and others. Tolkien was the densest, but I was so enraptured by his world and characters that his writing style just seeped into me and seemed natural for his story. It helped that I first heard them through my dad’s voice reading them aloud to me at night. Still, when it was my turn to pick them up, I didn’t mind that it took time and patience to read him; even now, I find him among the most rewarding of writers to read.

      Tolkien’s notes and letters are lots of fun to read: they are definitely more lively than his story-prose. I highly recommend The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, in case you haven’t read it yet.

What are your thoughts?

