Book Meme 2012


Remembering the great fun that came of last year’s 30-Day Book Meme, the Ladies of The Egotist’s Club have started another one and invited me to join.

Except this one is a little different.

There are ten topics, and the idea is to write on one topic a week—thus, the project should take ten weeks, which is considerably longer than the 30-Day Meme, but produces fewer entries and at a more manageable rate (the everyday postings of the 30-Day was fun, but sometimes a bit hard to keep up with). The good news for we readers is that this still makes for four posts a week from The Egotists. However, it also means a measly one a week from me. Which I suppose might be good or bad, depending on your opinion of my writing.

Not that I will post nothing but the meme topics; I’m still working on a variety of other posts. But the Meme should be easier, quicker, and possibly even more interesting.

The topics:

Week 1: Book Crush(es)

Week 2: Books I’d give a theme song to

Week 3: Best villain

Week 4: Best love story

Week 5: Characters and literary figures I’d name my children after

Week 6: The author by whom you own the most books

Week 7: Favorite words and phrases, or lines and literary allusions that would win your heart.

Week 8: Best Story Settings

Week 9: Book(s) that you would bring on your honeymoon. (ie; so intrinsic to your life that it MUST be shared with your life partner as soon as possible. Or just fun to read together.)

Week 10: Books that I would bring if the world was going to be destroyed by aliens/cylons and we had to restart civilization as we know it. (ie: the basis of human knowledge and thought and civilization.)

As Melpomene noted, there is a bit of a romantic slant to these. At least half of them are overtly so. Which will prove an interesting challenge for I, a man, for though I consider myself a romantic and delight in a well-written romance in a novel, I don’t often find myself falling in love with a female character or judging a real woman by a fictional standard.

Not often-ish.

At any rate, there are some exciting topics here, and I can’t wait to dig in and share my answers with you. Meanwhile, the Egotists already have a pretty good start on it, so politely pay them a visit and join the already-blooming conversations.

And now, for good measure, a song about zombie ninjas from the maestros at SongsToWearPantsTo.

WARNING: Video contains copious amounts of really fake blood, slightly obnoxious rapping and rocking out, and zombie ninjas.

P.S. If zombie ninjas aren’t your thing, Andrew Huang also writes songs about The Legend of Zelda, Celtic Techno Burritos, and Robot Pirates.

P.S. Yes, his humor is always that random and surreal.

Author: David

I’m a young Christian American reader writer dreamer wanderer walker flier listener talker scholar adventurer musician word-magician romantic critic religious idealist optipessimist man.

17 thoughts on “Book Meme 2012”

  1. I think that video is the best thing I’ve seen this week. I just wish the week were further along so that that meant more than it does right now! But still. (End lame attempt to be funny in the middle of the night when I should be sleeping.)

    1. I thought you might like it. I’ve been a casual fan of his website songstowearpantsto.com for a few years (courtesy of Michelle). I believe he still takes requests, too. The idea is that you can request any kind of song you want, any style, any subject, and if he likes the idea and it’s not too time-consuming, he’ll write and perform it for free. More complex songs you have to pay for. Just beware that he will interpret your instructions by the letter, not the spirit. (classic hilarious example is this one)

  2. Good Lord, I’m female and I would have some problems writing more than one line on any of those questions. I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    1. It’s taking some hard thought, but I think I’ll have some good entries. The members of The Egotist’s Club set a pretty high standard for thoughtful choices.

      1. Ee hee hee, you people shame me into being thoughtful, you know. Otherwise, I would totally be writing things like “Book X because it’s shiny!”

        1. I should also add “entertaining.” If an Egotist post isn’t super thoughtful, it will at least be entertaining. Usually it will be both. ‘-)

What are your thoughts?

