Giving Voice to the Story: On Reading the Hobbit Aloud to my Son


The joys and difficulties of reading aloud to children; also, how much fun Tolkien must have had reading The Hobbit to his kids.

A Pilgrim in Narnia

This blog is part of The Hobbit Read-Along at The Warden’s Walk. I’ve been assigned Chapter 14: Fire and Water. Feel free to comment on any of the great blogs in the series.

When I jumped into the Hobbit Read-Along, I never imagined that I would struggle to read two chapters a week. I am a slow reader, but given time I’ll find my way from book cover to dust jacket. But as I launched into this merry fellowship of nine writers, I didn’t account for the fact that I would be reading aloud to my son. Since the very beginning, we’ve been scrambling to cover two chapters a week.

Reading aloud to a curious 7¾ year old has challenges beyond sheer volume. The Hobbit is more complex than some of the other books we’ve read. We have only one book left in the Narnia Chronicles…

View original post 1,021 more words

Author: David

I’m a young Christian American reader writer dreamer wanderer walker flier listener talker scholar adventurer musician word-magician romantic critic religious idealist optipessimist man.

What are your thoughts?

