Am I almost an Inkling?

Mythguard Institute asks for your original flash fiction!

https://i0.wp.com/www.mythgard.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/MythgardBanner.png

Two weeks ago Mythguard Institute launched a flash fiction contest open to all comers that will last six weeks in total (ending on Halloween). Sorina Higgins, lecturer and Charles Williams blogger, seems to the main representative for it. In Week 1 they asked us to write a maximum of 333 words about a portal to another world, and the results were some fantastically imaginative, original fiction. As stories are submitted, they are posted online, and anyone can vote on their favorites. After voting closes, two winners are chosen: one by the popular vote and another by the judges. Additionally, runners-up are counted, and the prizes involve publication and the opportunity to read one’s story(-ies) at a webinar. Exciting stuff!

A friend of mine and fellow blogger (I’m not sure if they want to be named to the public yet) was chosen as runner-up by the judges, and I must say it was a cracking good tale. My own story got an honorable mention by the same judges, which suggests I did at least something right. I’ve tried again for last week, Week 2, on a topic about hunting dragons.

Voting is still open for Week 2, so why don’t you all head over to the link here, read some fun stories, and cast votes for the ones you like best? You don’t have to read them all, if it seems too daunting (there are 48, after all!), but they’re all short and sweet. Have fun reading!

 

Author: David

I’m a young Christian American reader writer dreamer wanderer walker flier listener talker scholar adventurer musician word-magician romantic critic religious idealist optipessimist man.

5 thoughts on “Am I almost an Inkling?”

    1. I couldn’t be happier that I did. Your own output has been absolutely delightful and it makes me kinda giddy that you’re finally getting some recognition!

      1. Reading “The Minnesinger” again (I hadn’t realized that that was the one you submitted!) I’m grieved and more than a bit shocked that it didn’t. …I might even be a little mad, but perhaps the trimmed version lost something? It’s originality and vividness deserve recognition. I read and commented on it at lunch and I’ll send it your way when I get home. It can be tightened, but even as it is, it’s an amazing story.

        I’m glad you like my recent stuffs! If you haven’t prodded these, yet, I’d love your input. I think I accidentally stumbled onto something interesting: https://jubilare.wordpress.com/2015/07/22/prism-sentence/ https://jubilare.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/light-reading-continuation-of-prism-sentence/ and with the dreamlike bent of your mind, It would be great to get suggestions.

        1. The trimmed version did lose some; specifically it lost references to the historical setting, religion, and the dragon’s size. So in the full version it’s implied that the first sign of the dragon, the whummering, might be in response to the religious music, but in the trimmed there is no explanation. It also loses the contrast between his scorn for religious music and the later description of his desire to repent which is in religious terms. However it does still have the contrast between the ways he enters and leaves the story: singing and dancing flamboyantly for one, quietly hiking without his lute for the other.

          It also lost the first paragraph describing the dragon’s song: I could only keep under the word limit by jumping straight from the dragon starting to sing to its emotional effect on Mirza. While the plot is preserved in the trimmed version, it loses a fair bit of texture and doesn’t flow as well. The cuts are a bit obvious, whereas in the full version I think the story breathes fairly naturally. And even better now, thanks to your help. +)

          I think I noticed those before, but hadn’t fully read them. I’ll do so now!

What are your thoughts?

